CWA ICWA Question Papers Inter Group II
Operations Management and Information System December 2009
This Paper has 46 answerable questions with 0 answered.
Time Allowed : 3 Hours Full Marks : 100
The figures in the margin on the right side indicate full marks.
Section I : Operation Management
Answer Question No. 1 which is compulsory and any 2 questions from the rest, under Section I.
1. (a) For each part below, choose the most appropriate answer out of the four options indicated below each part: 1×4
(i) Variety reduction is generally known as
(a) Less varieties, (b) Simplification, (c) Reduced varieties, (d) None of the above.
(ii) Line of best fit is another name given to
(a) Method of least squares, (b) Moving average method, (c) Semi–average method, (d)Trend line method.
(iii) The card, which shows the number of rejected products from the total quantity produced, is
(a) Quality control card, (b) Inspection card, (c) Rejection card, (d) Job card.
(iv) Route card and technological route card are
(a) Different type of documents, (b) Route card shows route and technological card shows the technology used,
(c) Same type of documents, (d) One is prepared by Production Manager and the other by Dispatcher.
(b) Expand the terms in List ‘A’ and match them with the related functional areas of production management in List ‘B’ :
List ‘A’ List ‘B’
WIP Production control
(c) Put an appropriate word or phase in blank position: 1×5
(i) Statistical analysis is used to determine the optimum policy of __________ maintenance. (0)
(ii) _________ layout is used for mass production. (0)
(iii) Factor comparison is a method of _________ . (0)
(iv) _______ cannot be delegated. (0)
(v) Ergonomics is another name for _________ . (0)
2. (a) From the following time series data of sales of refrigerators project the sales for the year 2010:
Year 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008
Sales (thousand units) 90 100 102 93 104 109 102
(b) Enumerate four differences between PERT and CPM. 1×4 (0)
(c) Write short notes on: 1×4 (0)
(i) Case hardening (0)
(ii) Centrifugal casting, (0)
(iii) Galvanising, (0)
(iv) Hobbing machine. (0)
(d) A manufacturer requires 10,000 components for use during the next year which is assumed to consist of 250 working days. The cost of storing one component for one year is Rs.40 and the cost of placing order is Rs.320.
There must always be a safety stock of two working days usage and the lead time from the supplier will be 5 working days. Assume that usage takes place steadily throughout the working days, delivery takes place at the end of the day and the orders are placed at the end of the working day. Compute (i) EOQ and (ii) Re–order Point.
3. (a) A company planning to start an assembly unit of television sets has to decide on the location of its plant at any of the three cities viz. Kolkata, Delhi or Mumbai. The extent of fixed and variable costs for each of these locations are estimated to be as under:
Locations Kolkata Delhi Mumbai
Fixed Costs per annum Rs. lakhs 30 50 25
Variable cost per unit Rs. 300 200 350
The expected selling price is Rs.700 per unit.
(i) The range of annual production/sales volume for which each location is most suitable.
(ii) Which one of the three locations is most suitable for a production/sales volume of 18000 units?
(iii) BEP for each location.
(b) What are the principles for a plant layout? 4 (0)
(c) What are the characteristics of a good plant layout? 4 (0)
4. (a) A company has 3 factories and 3 customers. The following table gives the transportation cost per unit from the factories to the customers and also the quantities available and required. Determine the initial transportation solution using Vogel’s method.
Factory A B C Availability
F1 10 11 20 10
F2 15 12 10 2
F3 17 9 16 8
Requirement 8 5 7 20
(b) Justify the necessity of keeping records of Maintenance Work Done. What should you ensure to get the full benefits of effective maintenance? 2+3 (0)
(c) Super Electronics manufactures TV sets and carries out the picture tube testing for 2500 hours. A sample of 200 tubes was put through this quality test during which 4 tubes failed. If the average usage of TV by customer is 5 hours/day and if 15000 TV sets were sold, then in one year how many tubes were expected to fail and what is the mean time between failures for these tubes? 3+1 (0)
(d) Expand the term CIM and write the implication of adopting CIM. 1+2 (0)
Section II : Information System
Answer Question No. 5 which is compulsory and any 2 questions from the rest, under Section II.
5. (a) Put an appropriate word or phrase in blank position: 1×6
(i) An _________ system is one which interacts with its environment and can change itself to accommodate the modifications. (0)
(ii) __________ are the procedure and rules for inter computer communication. (0)
(iii) _______ Device is a reading device used to interpret printed, hand – written data directly from source documents. (0)
(iv) __________ is the logical steps of problem decision in which a problem is divided into distinct logical conditions and actions under each condition are framed. (0)
(v) File activity = _____________ / Number of records in the file. (0)
(vi) ___________ is a illegal action with the help of computer technology to make financial gain, to have unauthorized access to private information of others, to damage software/data etc. (0)
(b) Which of the following features will apply for an Interpreter and which ones for a Compiler?
(i) Cost of software is high
(ii) Translation takes place during execution
(iii) Execution time is high
(iv) Translates the whole program
(v) Requires more memory
(vi) Cost of software is less
(vii) Translation happens in one go
(viii) Execution is fast
(ix) Requires less memory
(x) Translates line by line
(c) Each statement below is either True or False. Indicate the same in your answer: 1×3
(i) Transaction Files are basically intermediate files created during processing for an application area. (0)
(ii) In bus topology, a single network cable runs within a specified area and the terminals are connected to it. (0)
(iii) An Executive Information System (EIS) takes care of the requirement of information for senior managers only and hence is not a useful tool for people working in different managerial levels. (0)
6. (a) The following are the fields and its size in a purchase order record:
Field Name Maximum Field Size
Purchase Order Number 5
Vendor Code 2
Order Quantity 4
Order Date 6
The maximum number of estimated outstanding purchase order records will be 500. Expected increase in total records is 10%. The software also requires an overhead of 20% for minimizing collision and overflow conditions. Compute the total file space requirement after allowing for 10% contingency factor on the total size.
(b) Explain self–regulatory aspect of an Information System. 3 (0)
(c) What are the advantages of Client–Server Technology. 4 (0)
(d) Make a list of commonly used internet protocols. 3 (0)
(e) Indicate the points to be considered while designing Source Documents. 4 (0)
7. (a) What is data mining? What are the various types of services available from the related software tools? 3+3 (0)
(b) What are generally the sub–systems in the Manufacturing Module of an ERP Package? 3 (0)
(c) How will you start the selection process of an ERP Package? What would be the criteria for the selection? What are costs to be included in the Budget for implementation of ERP? 3+3+3 (0)
8 (a) What is computer fraud? What is the motive behind computer fraud? Name five common types of computer fraud. 1+3+5 (0)
(b) How do you distinguish between Internet and Intranet? What are the problems usually faced by users of Internet? 2+4 (0)
(c) A company engaged in steel manufacturing activities is considering the implementation of an ERP system. The company has a few computerized applications running in different areas of the organisation. All these will be discontinued after ERP system is implemented.
A software firm has given a quotation for the new system which states that the implementation will take a little more than a year and the capital cot will be Rs.86 lakhs (payable as Rs.55 lakhs in the first year and Rs.31 lakhs in the second year). The management is wondering as to when the ERP system will recover all of its initial costs and start making a profit. What would be your answer based on the above data and the following information about operational costs (Rs. lakhs)?
Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4 Year 5
Old system 25 28 34 45 47
New system – 7 14 15 16